RBSO Classical Concert No.2

Thursday 3 September 2020

Venue: Thailand Cultural Centre, Small Hall


Conductor: VanichPotavanich

Soloist : Yos Vaneesorn, Clarinet


Louis Spohr: Overture in C minor, Op.12

Weber: Clarinet Concerto No.1 in F minor, Op.73

Mendelssohn: Symphony No.1 in C minor, Op.11

Under the Royal Patronage of Her Royal Highness Princess Sirivannavari Nariratana Rajakanya, the Royal Bangkok Symphony Orchestra Foundation and Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) are delighted to present RBSO Classical Concert No. 2 of the 2020 season. On Thursday September 3, 2020 at 7:30PM at the Thailand Cultural Centre – Small Hall, the orchestra’s own long serving principal clarinetist Dr. Yos Vaneesorn will perform, as soloist, a collection of Romantic era pieces.

Dr. Yos Vaneesorn began studying clarinet as a child in Chiang Mai, Thailand. He went on to pursue a Bachelor’s degree in music composition at Chulalongkorn University where he earned first-class honors. After graduation, he served as the principal clarinetist for the RBSO for four years while working as a clarinet instructor at several major universities. He pursued his Master’s and Doctoral studies at Louisiana State University and University of Missouri at Kansas City. Currently, he is teaching at Chulalongkorn University and is the principal clarinet of the RBSO.

The program features three pieces by Romantic era German composers. The first, Overture in C minor, Op. 12 by Louis Spohr was composed in 1807, which was one of his most prolific years. Despite the mixed critical reviews, they agreed that it had unique beauties. The piece has stood the test of time and is enjoyed by audiences around the world over 200 years later.

Second, Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F minor, Op. 73 by Carl Maria von Weber was written for Romantic virtuoso clarinetist Heinrich Bärmann in 1811. The audience can expect three movements in a pattern of fast, slow, fast. The first movement is regarded as being quite innovative for its time with elements later echoed in pieces by Mendelssohn.

Third is Felix Mendelssohn’s Symphony No.1 in C minor, Op. 11. Amazingly, this piece was completed in 1824 when Mendelssohn was just 15 years old. It was dedicated to the Royal Philharmonic Society in London and premiered in 1829 with Mendelssohn conducting.

Thai conductor, Vanich Potavanich, the resident conductor for the RBSO, will be on the podium for this evening. A familiar face around the RBSO, he has both performed and conducted around the world. The performance is open to the public. Tickets are available via ThaiTicketMajor, with discounts available for students and seniors.

We hope you will be able to join us Thursday, September 3 at 7:30PM for this evening of Romantic music at the Thailand Cultural Centre.




RBSO is a non-profit foundation which has set a standard for professional orchestra to become the leading orchestra of Thailand, representing the country as the “Cultural Ambassador” to perform classical, operatic, musicals, popular and Thai contemporary concerts both locally and in many countries.



2nd floor, Kian Gwan III Building,
152 Wireless Road, Lumpini, Pathumwan Bangkok 10330

Telephone: +66(0)255 6617-8, +66(0)255 9191-2
Fax: +66 (0) 2255 6619
Email: orchestra@rbsothailand.com